Bookmark and Share

Traffic Safety Board

Brendan R. Casey, Commissioner of Emergency Services

The Traffic Safety Board was created by the Orange County Legislature under Local Law No. 2 of 2008 establishing a Traffic Safety Board pursuant to Article 43, Section 1673 of the Vehicle and Traffic Law of the State of New York.

The goal of the OCTSB is to reduce the incidents of fatal and serious personal injury motor vehicle accidents occurring on the roadways within Orange County, New York. In order to achieve this goal, the Board will foster cooperation and partnerships between all involved individuals and agencies representing law enforcement, education, prevention, and community members. The Board will also review and make recommendations to coordinate and direct activities related to the implementation of the New York State Highway Safety Program as approved by the Governor through the Governor’s Traffic Safety Committee (GTSC).

All members of the Board are appointed by the County Executive and confirmed by the Orange County Legislature.

The Traffic Safety Board is comprised of the following (15) members or their designated representative:

Orange County Executive Steven Neuhaus
Orange County Legislative Chairman Stephen Brescia
Orange County District Attorney David Hoovler
Orange County Sheriff Carl Dubois
New York State Police Troop F Captain Richard Mazzone
Orange County Police Chief’s Association representative
New York State Department of Transportation Regional Director Richard Gaupman
Orange County Commissioner of Emergency Services Brendan Casey
Orange County Commissioner of Mental Health Darcie Miller
Orange County Commissioner of Public Works Erik Denega
Orange/Ulster BOCES District Superintendent William J. Hecht
City of Middletown Police Chief John Ewanciw
City of Newburgh Acting Police Chief Aaron Weaver
City of Port Jervis Police Chief William Worden
Community Member Joseph Coleman